District AGM 2018

The District AGM is to be held on Wednesday 27th June 2018 at 7.30 pm at which there will be a presentation by Pegasus Explorer Scout Unit of their recent trip to Denmark.

Further details to follow…….

St Georges Service 2018

St. George’s Day celebration has now been fixed for Sunday 22nd April 2018.

Service at 2.30p.m in St George’s Church, Elliott Street, Tyldesley

Our District Chaplain Rev. Alan Saunders will be taking the service.

Further details will be circulated later.

Service only – no Parade as in  previous years.

Further details to follow……..

Remembrance Parades 2016

Please see details of the Remembrance parades taking place on Sunday 13th November.


The parade party will assemble at Atherton Collieries in Alder Street at 10.10am for a 10.20am departure.

The parade will pass through High Street and Tyldesley Road, stopping at Atherton Baptist Church memorial before proceeding on Tyldesley Road via Market Street and Leigh Road to Atherton Cenotaph.

The parade will be dismissed at Atherton Collieries following a return procession.


The parade will assemble at Leigh Pentecostal Church, Ullswater Street, at 10.15am, proceeding 15 minutes later to the service at the Cenotaph in Church Street Gardens via Railway Road, Market Street, Lord Street, Charles Street and Church Street.

There will be a return procession to the town hall square at the conclusion of the service, going through Church Street, Vernon Street, Bradshawgate, Market Street and St Mary’s Way.


The parade will assemble on the Market Square at 10.05am, proceeding at 10.15am to the cenotaph, Tyldesley Cemetery, via Elliott Street, Manchester Road and Hough Lane.

Following the service a procession returning to the Market Square will go via Hough Lane, Manchester Road and Elliott Street.


Young Leader Recognition Award 2016

We are fast approaching the end of the year and it is time to start thinking about who is deserving of this year’s “Young Leader Recognition Award”.

It is important that we value our Young Leaders in the District, as they are the adult leaders of tomorrow.

Attached to this post is the nomination form. The deadline for all nomination submissions is the 30th November. Young people can nominate themselves for the award, which is encouraged, but I would urge anyone who thinks they might know someone worthy to fill in an application.

The Young Person must be aged between 14-17, or only just 18 and the award is in recognition of the efforts as a Young Leader only.

The winner will be announced at this years Carol Service, which will be held at St Josephs Church on Friday 16th December.

Please note that I am also collecting data to enable me to give out young leader service awards (similar to the adult version that we have for our 5 years, 10 years etc). So if you have a young person between the ages of 14-17 who helps within your section please give me details of their name, age, date they started and what section they help out in.

Please email the completed forms to youth.commissioner@lilforddistrictscouts.org.uk

Penny Rothwell
Lilford District Youth Commissioner